PDA

View Full Version : Points on a mandolin-built for use or art?

darylcrisp
Feb-22-2014, 9:54pm
In reference to playing while seated-and using a strap.

I am using the artistworks site for online lessons and Mike Marshall shows how to position and balance the F style using the points, which work great for me. I've tried a couple A styles and I just don't care for the shape. The F shape immediately fits and allows less tension overall for positioning which I think is very important-and I am a beginner and need all the help I can find.

Were the points initially for looks or use on a mandolin?
Do they serve any other purposes(sound/tone)?

thanks
d

Timbofood
Feb-22-2014, 10:03pm
Yes, and, I don't think so.
Other than providing places to stop "slippage" related to the lower treble side point.
You may have opened a can of worms with more opinion and controversy than you know.
Off to buy popcorn, granddaughter just took my last bowl!

Misty Stanley-Jones
Feb-23-2014, 6:31am
I'm only a newbie but I can keep my A style pretty snug between my knees when my left foot is elevated, without a point. Elevating the left leg was a revelation.

OldSausage
Feb-23-2014, 9:08am
Once you stand up to perform on stage, all those pointy bits will just hang there.

Astro
Feb-23-2014, 9:42am