PDA

View Full Version : Transposing from Mandolin to Greek Bouzouki

Becky
Mar-03-2005, 6:40am
I play the Greek Bouzouki (I'm a beginner) and all I can find to play, musicwise, are Greek tunes because of the strings being tuned differently. (Low to High CFAD). #Does anyone know how to transpose Mandolin tabs into Bouzouki tabs? #I am mostly interested in playing Celtic music. #Is there any software out there that would do this kind of transposing? #

Becky

Dolamon
Mar-03-2005, 7:22am
First off - welcome to the world of mando family instruments.

Th CFad tuning is ONE of the ways of tuning a Greek Bouzouki. Normally, Irish or Celtic music of some sort will have a 'DAD' somewhere in the tuning. On Hans Speek's (http://home.hccnet.nl/h.speek/bouzouki/index.html) remarkable site, he explores some of the possiblilites and the reason for it (drones, linear melodies, adjacent harmonies etc). There are several good sites which explore both left and right hand options but ... if you don't have a teacher nearby or someone else who plays it can be a bit of a daunting exploration.

A few questions and a suggestion - what is your musical background, what other instruments do you play, can you read music and are you familiar with TablEdit? For the suggestion - which may seem a bit overwhelming at first ... Get a copy of John McGann's Octave Mandolin and Bouzouki (http://www.johnmcgann.com/om.html) book. He covers a TON of the basics in the first ten pages or so and then introduces you to both melody and accompaniement styles ... some easier than the others.

Take your time with your new 'Zook' and enjoy the sounds you can make on it. To me, the possibilities haven't really been explored yet.

Becky
Mar-03-2005, 2:55pm