PDA

View Full Version : Gibson Nashville Flatiron Festival F

mandotrout777
Feb-18-2014, 8:59pm
I just received this 2001 Gibson Flatiron Festival F. http://theunofficialmartinguitarforum.yuku.com/topic/105641#.UwQEMBYx-FI

This is an old "ad" by what I think might have been the original owner (based on some other information I've found). I have no idea how many times its changed hands since 2010. I bought it from a reputable used instrument dealer, and I don't in any way question their honesty. Stuff happens sometimes though and I have zero experience with Flatirons so I'm being a little paranoid. Does anybody see anything here that should set off alarm bells? Is this label consistent with other Nashville Flatirons? It is quite a bit different than the Gibson labels I've seen.

The mandolin sounds impressive. I have it on approval and am inclined to keep it, but I would like to know I could sell it for what I paid for it someday, if need be, instead of finding out later that it was a faked up knock-off or something.

Thanks for any help.

MikeEdgerton
Feb-18-2014, 9:05pm
I had a Flatiron Festival A. I don't see anything that would throw up a flag for me. The only people that ever faked a Flatiron was Gibson when they started bringing them in from the far east a few years ago. If you were going to go to the trouble of faking an instrument wouldn't you throw the more expensive label on it? It looks to be very similar to the Gibson F5G. Enjoy it.

Dave LaBoone
Feb-18-2014, 9:27pm
I had one almost identical to that one...great mandolin! I don't think you've got anything to worry about as far as it being a fake.

DataNick
Feb-18-2014, 10:37pm
I had one almost identical to that one...great mandolin! I don't think you've got anything to worry about as far as it being a fake.

Dave,

I believe it's yours; he got it from MandoMutt; ie your Giroud trade, etc.

Jeff,

I've been following that one; Dave's video clips were impressive!

mandotrout777
Feb-18-2014, 10:55pm