PDA

View Full Version : Value of 1919 Gibson A-2

StoneSt
Mar-01-2005, 10:41pm
Looking for info on the value of an A2 in VG condition but with replacement tuners and bridge. It also is missing part of the pickgurard support and endpin. The top seems a little bit sunken under the bridge but not so much that the bridge is any taller than what I would consider acceptable for an F-5. It sounds full and open and the intonation seems fine.

This is my first time considering an oval hole so any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks --Bob http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mandosmiley.gif

fatt-dad
Mar-01-2005, 10:51pm
If it is structurally sound (a big if), considering that the replacement tuners required the peghead be redrilled (not a good thing for a collector) and considering that there are missing parts, I would say (sight unseen and to start the conversation), somewhere in the range of $800 to $1200.00.

If there is a loose brace on the underside of the top plate, you will probably spend a hundred or so on the repair (widely variable and not including shipping). If you try to buy missing parts, when they are available, they go for a pretty penny - so you may not get the pickguard parts anytime soon.

Some of this I'm making up, but that's my impression anyhow.

fatt-dad

Juice6120
Mar-02-2005, 12:41am
Always check with Ebay ,fatt-dad is pretty close to what i would have said . If you have a decent digital camera send pictures to george gruhn www.guitarpriceonline.com and for 35 dollars he will give you a current market value. You will recieve an email within 24 hours also a written appraisal mailed to you with his signature. You can use this for insurance purposes since george is one of the fathers of the vintage market and also a #noted author not to mention historian . I have used him many times. I wouldnt hesitate to do so again. If you should ever have a disaster happen his appraisal will help big time .

keithd
Mar-02-2005, 11:37am
Bob,