PDA

View Full Version : J62 Diaddrio Strings New - size of Ring diameter in the package

Jungleman
Dec-06-2013, 7:35pm
Hi fellows:
Newbie here. Perhaps dumb question.
Does size of the Ring Winding Diameter inside the Package, affect shelf life of the strings.

Just got three pack order. Each package felt really puffed up. I thought he sent me wrong strings. I opened the package the strings were right. However, the Ring Winding Diameter, was barely 2 inches.
Should I open it up and wind it the package size diameter the package on these is
5 in x 5 in. So I can make a ring of at least 4.5 inch diameter.

On previous order, from another supplier. When I opened the package it was so thin. I thought we got troubles he did not put 2 strings in each pack. On opening the package I found, everything in order. Surpirse, the Ring Diameter was as large as the package that is 5 inch. You could only tell there is strings in each package by feeling around the edges of the package.

Your comments to this dumb question are apperciated.

Jungleman

Folkmusician.com
Dec-06-2013, 7:59pm
I have never personally seen a set of factory packaged D'Addario's that didn't have the coil fill the package pretty well. Are your strings in the standard packaging?

bratsche
Dec-06-2013, 8:40pm
Almost sounds as though somebody removed them from the package to check out or measure, or something, and then put them back in after winding them rather clumsily. Are these usually factory sealed packages, or are they only held shut with tape? In which condition did they arrive? I have no idea how or if this would affect their performance or shelf life.

bratsche

allenhopkins
Dec-06-2013, 9:12pm
Most string packages aren't sealed; the flap of the outer plastic envelope is just folded over. I think the "strings taken out for inspection, then repackaged" hypothesis seems most likely.