PDA

View Full Version : Funny thing happened on the way to a blackface

Perry Babasin
Nov-22-2013, 12:15pm
The deeper I got into this "The Loar" LM-600 refinish the more I realized that trying to get a nice smooth blackface was sort of contrary to the light finish I wanted to accomplish, at least the way I was going about it. I started with alcohol based aniline dye with light shellac to seal it. In the process of rubbing it back and reading threads here on the cafe, I graduated to black lacquer, still intending to go over the entire instrument with tru-oil as the top coats. In the process of spraying and rubbing back I started to like the "Barn Wood" look I was getting on the front, the black dye and paint was enhancing the grain in a rustic way, so I jumped ship and changed horses.

Sooooo, in what seems like another life-time I was an airbrush illustrator. Many years ago I gave up all my equipment and jumped into computer illustration. I don't know why I didn't go with this in the first place, but I was trying to be a purist and apply the dyes and color by hand. Forget that, I love airbrushing color, it is great. I made a very thinned shellac mixture and added amber, a little brown and red aniline powder and sprayed the thing with a funky little hobby airbrush I picked up at Michael's. Building it up light and slow, I think the dark mahogany color set it off nicely, and I'm starting to really dig what's going on. The mixture was so thin that I'm sure the dye got into the wood and when it dries it rubs down nicely. I still have binding cleanup and general finish detailing to do but with a very thin color and sealed coat, I'm ready for tru-oil!

roberto216
Nov-22-2013, 12:39pm
Nice job. That looks really sweet!

Alex Orr
Nov-22-2013, 3:23pm