PDA

View Full Version : Celtic/Irish Music 101

Robert Smyth
Nov-13-2013, 1:41pm
Howdy fellow Mandolinists,

I've been playing mandolin for about 10 years now and got into it through the Grateful Dead and subsequently falling in love with Bluegrass through Jerry's early side projects with Old and In the Way. I've been playing in a Bluegrass Band for the last five years or so.

I'm actually 5/8 Irish and a legal Irish citizen. I honestly have to say that I've never been pulled by Irish or Celtic music and feel like on some DNA level that I should be affected by it. What very little of the Irish fiddle music I've seen seems to have been everyone playing the melody at the same time which seems at odds with Bluegrass where everyone gets to solo at some point, which seems more democratic to me.

Anyway, I was hoping someone could point out some recordings or artists to check out. I just want to make sure I'm not missing out on something here! Cheers!

TheBlindBard
Nov-13-2013, 3:30pm
Well, as far as mandolin, Marla Fibish is an amazing irish mandolinist. As for other groups to look out, I would check out The Chieftains. They use alot of traditional instruments. whistle, fiddle, pipes and such.

Killian King
Nov-13-2013, 3:53pm
Robert, Not that it will float your boat any more than other celtic music, but check this out. I think you may recognize it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jlGB-To_D-Q

Paul Busman
Nov-13-2013, 5:14pm
See if you can find an Irish music session in your area and go check it out. Session playing is tremendous fun. Some sessions I've been to use sheet music, so if you can sight read that you can jump right in.

mandroid
Nov-13-2013, 5:22pm
Irish sessions tend to use the tenor banjo a lot , to get away from doubling the Fiddler on the same pitches.

The ITB is an octave down,but still GDAE but you can learn a lot of the ornamentations from them .

Mike Floorstand
Nov-13-2013, 5:39pm