PDA

View Full Version : Hoffee Case - seven months in use so far.

Clef
Nov-10-2013, 7:26pm
I’m constantly traveling around town with my Gibson mandolin. With my music lessons and jam sessions, I have to bring my mandolin to work a few times each week.

I don’t like the stock Gibson case. The Gibson case is too bulky and doesn’t offer the protection I want. After researching online for a better case, I ended up ordered my case directly from Jeff Hoffee with the Thinsulate lining.

I’ve been using my Hoffee Case for seven months now. I figured I would post a review for the Cafe.

My Gibson mandolin fits incredibly well inside this case. The entire mandolin is supported by the interior padding of the case. There is no movement at all. The carbon fiber is lightweight and the case just feels solid all around. The latches close securely and the rubber feet work well on the ground. There is plenty of storage inside the little compartment. It holds everything I need.

There is plenty of room at the headstock scroll so the scroll won't get broken if the case ever gets dropped. The neck and headstock have whiplash prevention. The neck and headstock get sandwiched between the top foam and the bottom foam inside the case. You can see in one of the photos how the headstock gets sandwiched between the foam. My mandolin even stays in tune as well while traveling. I can put it in the car, bring it to work, then back into the car, drive to my jam session and it’s still in tune.