Fiddlers Green The Mandolin Store Northfield Instruments Retrofret

EastmanStrings and BeyondMorgan MusicEllis/PavaElderly InstrumentsMass Street MusicD'AddarioKentucky
CollingsThe Music EmporiumThe Acoustic Music CompanyMandolin World HeadquartersJustStrings.comWeber

Select a Viewing Mode and Category:


German Baroque Music For Mandolin

Photo for Ad 131359

The German Baroque period featured three virtuosi--Biber, Westhoff and Johann Jakob Walther. Walther (1650-1717) performed as a violinist in the orchestra of Cosimo III from 1670 to 1674 (Medici dynasty) and served as concertmaster at the court in Dresden.

Walther’s compositions are contained in two books: Scherzi da Violino solo con il basso continuo (1676) and Hortulus Chelicus (1688). This book presents six sonatas for violin from Hortulus Chelicus transcribed for the mandolin. The collection is a wonderful addition to the classical mandolin repertoire. All the sonatas are written in standard notation and tablature.

Sonata I - Preludio-Aria-Corrente-Sarabanda-Giga-Finale
Sonata II - Preludio-Allemanda-Sarabanda-Giga-Finale
Sonata III - Aria Variata
Sonata IV - Preludio-Allemanda-Sarabanda-Giga-Finale
Sonata V - Preludio-Aria-Sarabanda-Giga-Finale
Sonata VI - Preludio-Allemanda-Corrente-Sarabanda-Giga-Finale