Thread: Mandolin Beginner asking for: "10 steps on how to play mandolin"

Default Mandolin Beginner asking for: "10 steps on how to play mandolin"

Hi , guys and gal's

first of all im new to this forum my name is wes im a beginner on mandolin but i played double bass for 2 years then i switched to electric / acoustic guitar and im playing 5 years now getting into country/rockabilly lead guitar and always tought bluegrass music is very cool !
    my wife is playing the violin so i tought it might be a cool idea to learn playing a second instrument so we can play bluegrass together.
    i've learned allot myself on guitar till i got stuck and got myself some teachers.
    one thing i remember of starting out on the guitar is if u don't know where to start it's some kind of a maze or puzzle and it will take you allot of time to get things rolling.
    thinking back of the time i began playing guitar i can know tell a beginner what to do and how to begin in 10 steps like buy this book, learn open chords , learn barre chords, learn this scale , combine that .. etc..

so my question is can anyone of u write down how to play mandolin in 10 steps ?

btw im getting my first mandolin "The Loar" LM-600" in about 1 week.

Gibson F5L Gibson A5L
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Mandolin Beginner asking for: "10 steps on how to play mandol

10 probably isn't enough ....... I'll try and hit the high spots as I see them .... Best wishes for your mandolin journey....
    1. Learn both open and closed position chords and scales and arpeggios.
    2. Take lessons from a mandolin player / teacher not someone that just teaches mandolin.
    3. Get a 1.2mm or thicker pick.
    4. Keep a loose wrist and fingers. If you don't drop the pick occasionally you are gripping it too tight. Watch a video od Tim O'Brien.
    5. Hold your pick at 90' to the side of your thumb.
    6. Do a lot of active ,with mandolin in hand, and passive, while doing other things , listening to mandolin players.