Thread: My Eastman 515 Review

I just recieved my Eastman Mandolin MD515 #10 from Gianna Violins.

First, Let me say that dealing with Steve at Gianna was unbeliavable. He answered dozen of questions and sent pics. I could not be happier with my dealings with Steve from Gianna Violins.

Now for some background, I have been playing the mandolin for about three years. I have played Guitar for about 15. My other mandolin is a Michael Kelly legacy that I bought back when you could order direct and they were half the price. I was never impressed with the MK, but you get what you pay for.
    I have played several low end mandolins from johnsons, to morgan monroes, MK's, Alvarez, Washburns and Kentucky's.

Now for the review:
    I will compare the Eastman with my current MK
    THe craftmanship far exceeds the MK. I haven't played any MK's that have been made in the last year or so. So if they have improved this might not be true, but the 515 overall with the finish to the wood greatly exceeds any of the previous Mandos that I mentioned above. There are some small blemishis (or however you spell it) here and there in the finish, but you would have to stare at it with your nose on the body to see it. The inside of the scroll is a little rough, but I guess that is expected.
    Tone and Playability
    I honestly for the price sounds great. Its far louder than my MK, the sustain is far better. I always thought the MK sounded like it always had dead strings on it even when they were new J74s. It's lively. It has a good bark. It honestly kicks the MK and the previous brand's fannies.
    Cons