Thread: Wedding Gig Friday

7000 ft up in the High Sierra east of Porterville.

I played at the chapel Christmas Eve in front of a fairly large crowd and a couple of days later got a call asking me to play for a wedding this Friday. I immediately said yes and then was amazed to hear the words "What is your going rate?". Once I got my heart restarted, I told them I had spent quite a bit on Christmas this year and could only afford to pay them $20 to allow me to play. He laughed and said I should take something so I can brag that I'm now a professional. Maybe I should take $1 and mount it on a wall. The point is, this is a fellow I have known for years and he is asking me to play at this once in a lifetime event (or in his case, a 4 time in a lifetime event), but who's counting marriages.
    Playing mandolin is a HOOT!
    John

I've played guitar, piano and sang at a TON of weddings -- didn't think all my friends and family members would EVER finish getting married! I usually do it for free, but I've charged a few times for people I didn't know, etc. It really is a lot of work to do a wedding. You're lucky if the bride ever wants you to play/sing anything that you already know, so you have to learn new songs. Sometimes they want you to sing with some other person they know, so you have to get together with your new music partner and practice. Then there's having to be in contact with the bride's mother....

$100 is WAY too cheap!

OK -- I'm going to add my two cents here (20,000 cents to be exact)

Many of us make our living from playing music and people who play for free or too little make life harder for those of us who do this professionally.

For weddings, I don't go out the door for less than $200 (and that is for my own church --I charge more at any other location) -- granted, I've been playing for a while. If I play for free at a friend's wedding, I make it clear that it is a GIFT (a $200 one at that).