Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Weber Bitterroot or Gibson F9??

Default Weber Bitterroot or Gibson F9??

Hi Everyone,
    I've been playing mandolin for about 7 years (a mid range Pac Rim mando) and I'm finally able to purchase my first "nicer" mandolin (I've been playing guitar and banjo for over 20 years and have several higher grade acoustic instruments, so I appreciate quality American craftsmanship). I play mandolin quite a bit in a couple of different bands, and I'm looking to spend around $2K. It seems to me that the best options in this price range (American made) are the Gibson F9 and the Weber Bitterroot. I want a spruce/maple mandolin because I love that traditional bluegrass sound, but I am flexible and really just want a good quality, playable mandolin. I know ideally I'd like to play before I buy, but since I'll probably buy used, that might not be an option. Any suggestions from the experts here would be tremendously appreciated!! Thanks!!

Default Re: Weber Bitterroot or Gibson F9??

Gibson for me if those are the only 2 choices..
    Hughes F-5 #1
    Hughes A model #1
    1922 Gibson A-2
    1958 Gibson A-5

Blog Entries

Well they both will sound and look different from one another and likely have different neck profiles. Even if you can't play THE instrument before you buy, try and get your hands on some examples from the brands. I couldn't make a choice without at least doing that.

Jamie
    There are two things to aim at in life: first, to get what you want; and, after that, to enjoy it. Only the wisest of mankind achieve the second. Logan Pearsall Smith, 1865 - 1946

+ Give Blood, Save a Life +

Hi Jman.........I have never played a Weber Bitterroot but I did own a Gibson F9 and it was a very nice mandolin. I had a 2004 F9 and it had a great sound, loud chop, nice playability up & down the neck. I've played other Webers and loved their sound too. The F9 is a nice mando for the $$$.
    Peace,
    Jim Ferguson

Kentucky KM1000