Thread: Good sources for music when learning

Default Good sources for music when learning

I've been learning the mandolin on and off for several years (I get busy, then find myself drawn back to it). I come to it after having spent many years playing the guitar (classical, jazz, and rock). I've found the mandolin particularly intriguing.

The sources I'm using at present are the David Grisman book/CDs, which I find helpful, although trying to play along with his samples at full speed is enormously frustrating; I'm not that fast. I've also enjoyed using a Mel Bay book of fiddle tunes.

Any other good suggestions to build reportoire and technique?

Blog Entries

Default Re: Good sources for music when learning

What kind of music do you want to play on the mandolin? I would listen to lots and lots of that. What ever instruments.

I started out, myself, with fiddle tunes, and back in the day there wasn't much recorded mandolin, so I listened to a lot (no, a lot a lot) of fiddle music.

If its bluegrass, listen to tons and tons of bluegrass. Ricky Skaggs might be a starting place.

If you are listening to Grisman because that is the style you are after, you can't do better. But if you are listening to Grisman because that is the recorded mandolin music you have found, then seek out the kind of music you want to play.
    A talent for trivializin' the momentous and complicatin' the obvious.

The entire staff
    funny....

You can use a program like Audacity to change the tempo of your recordings. It has a filter that allows you to slow the recording down but not change the pitch.