Thread: 12 string mandolin

i'm new to the mandolin world.my wife bought a fender52e for xmas last year.now i.m hooked.i recently found a 12 sting "cremona"mandolin at a garage sale.can anybody tell me how this is played.should string it as an 8 sting?it has not been played much and is solid and straight.
    daryl woods

Triple courses aren't unheard of, but neither are mandolins made to be strung like guitars. Are there strings on it? If there aren't take a look at the slots in the nut. Are there four groups of three strings or six groups of two?
    And now there was no doubt that the trees were really moving - moving in and out through one another as if in a complicated country dance. ('And I suppose,' thought Lucy, 'when trees dance, it must be a very, very country dance indeed.')

C.S. Lewis

I have a friend who has a "12 string mandolin", a purple electric danelectro styled instrument tuned like a guitar in double courses. Silly little mando wanna-be thing

Yes, that octave 12 string is a Vox Mando-Guitar. I believe that the Beatles actually used one on Rubber Soul. David Lindley also plays one of those.

As far as real 12 string (4 courses of three strings) mandolins, Oscar Schmidt made tons of them. Almost evry bowlback 12 string I have seen on eBay has been an OS. There is the telltale "OS" monogram on the pickguard.

Lyon & Healy made these also.

Years ago in a second hand music store in New York City, I saw a 12 string Gibson A model, prob one of a kind.

Jim
    Jim

My Stream on Soundcloud
    Facebook
    19th Century Tunes
    Playing lately:
    1924 Gibson A4 - 2018 Campanella A-5 - 2007 Brentrup A4C - 1915 Frank Merwin Ashley violin - Huss & Dalton DS - 1923 Gibson A2 black snakehead - '83 Flatiron A5-2 - 1939 Gibson L-00 - 1936 Epiphone Deluxe - 1928 Gibson L-5 - ca. 1890s Fairbanks Senator Banjo - ca. 1923 Vega Style M tenor banjo - ca. 1920 Weymann Style 25 Mandolin-Banjo - National RM-1