Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Gibson F-5G or Goldrush?

Default Gibson F-5G or Goldrush?

I am pretty new to mandolin, but have been completely consumed and addicted since starting. I have played guitar for 25 years, and haven't even picked one up since becoming obsessed with the mandolin. It's very exciting to have a new venture in life.

I originally purchased a Breedlove Quartz FF and within 2 weeks turned it back in and ordered a Gibson F-5G. I new having played guitars for soo long and being a devout Martin man that the quality of the instrument could promote or deter your playing and was confident I needed a great Mando for a long time to come. The F-5 was a beauty that I got new for $3700 including tax. The strap button however had been slammed into the instrument and the bell on the strap button was shaved off. There was also what genuinely appeared to have been a hairline crack in the top of the Mando that was obviously attempted to be covered up by Gibson. Probably wasn't an issue, but with the combo of the strap button issue I decided to send back. Having purchased many Gibson Les Pauls in the past, I am very familiar with the high inconsistencies in Gibson products.

Currently if I want another F-5G it won't be available until October. The store GM has agreed to let me purchase a Gibson F-5GR Goldrush for $4600 including tax that is currently available. It will have to come shipped, so I can't play it before. I know that is a better price in relation to MSRP, and yes he is a friend so he gives me killer deals. In the meantime he nas let me buy back the Breedlove Quartz FF until I order the Goldrush or October when the F-5s are back in.

So, very long way around until this question. Gibson F-5G or Gibson Goldrush? Bluegrass is what I mostly enjoy. I know at the prices I am protected on not loosing any money.