Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tone bars on the back?

Question Tone bars on the back?

Has anyone experimented with placing tone bars on the back of the mandolin?

Seems like you could make some changes in tonal response by changing how the back flexes in response to the top . . .

Steve

Default Re: Tone bars on the back?

I'm no expert... but what would you do about bracing the top for strength? Isn't that part of the funtion for the tone bars as well? And isn't there more vibration at the top?
    I Pick, Therefore I Grin! ... "Good Music Any OLD-TIME"

1922 Gibson F2
    2006 Gibson F5 Goldrush
    2015 Martin HD28-V
    2017 Gibson J45

The tone bars aren't there to brace for strength.

Placing tone bars on the back would be counterproductive. The primary function of the back is to reflect the sound waves. The best way to tune a backboard is by carefully thinning the center of the arch. This can lower the resonant frequency a bit, which is usually the direction you want to go when tuning your enclosure.

Try it and see, Steve. I don't know of anyone having tried it, but I bet it's been done...(everything has been done).

I'll wait and see if Dave (Cohen) shows up and clarifies some things, but tone bars do serve a structural function as well as modifying top modes, backs do not "reflect sound", but vibrate in their own mode shapes. "Back bars" could change the back modes just as "tone bars" change top modes.

6. The following members say thank you to sunburst for this post:

Quote Originally Posted by MikeEdgerton View Post
    The tone bars aren't there to brace for strength.
    True ... but don't they somewhat add top support strenth? ... seems logical

1922 Gibson F2
    2006 Gibson F5 Goldrush
    2015 Martin HD28-V
    2017 Gibson J45

Logical but not the intention. The Loar 700 series doesn't even have tone bars. I'll see if I can find the last raucous discussion about tone bars and structural support. It's been a few years since the last one.