Thread: Vintage D'Angelico pics

Default Vintage D'Angelico pics

Hey everyone, this is my first time posting on the site. I heard of this place from a friend and it seems pretty cool.

I recently received a vintage D'Angelico mandolin, and was wondering if anyone here had any information they would be willing to share, or just knew anything about this mandolin in general. I'm really interested in finding out more about it, so any info or comments would be much appreciated!

I also have the original Lifton case it came with. Thanks!

Default Re: Vintage D'Angelico pics

I bet not many folks on this here forum have played a D'Angelico mandolin or guitar. Pecuniarily speaking it is worth much wampum.

Probably not a Bluegrass machine.

yeah, it has a lot of sound and tone

WOW nice axe!
    "Mandolins are an Illness" Conrad Deislar

According to the ledgers (as published in the Schmidt "Acquired of the Angels" book), your mandolin is dated 5/10/41.

It is the plainest style of mandolin D'Angelico made.

Obviously, it is missing the pickguard, as you can tell by the telltale hole to the right of the fingerboard.

There is currently another plain D'Angelico mandolin for sale here for $10,000:

http://www.myjazzhome.com/DAmando.shtml

That mandolin has been for sale for quite some time at that price, which seems a bit high for a plain style.

There are two other, fancier, D'Angelicos for sale here:

http://www.massstreetmusic.com/store...Style-Mandolin

and here

http://www.gruhn.com/photo/MF7537.jpg

I have played 4 or 5 D'Angelico mandolins, and I have been very impressed with most of them, and absolutely blown away by one or two of them.

When they do come up for sale, they seem to stay there for some time. This is partly because they appeal to a niche market, and partly because people (in my opinion) tend to overprice them by looking at the prices of D'Angelico guitars, which are much more desirable.

I'd love to see a picture of the case...

Edit: