Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: What's the scam on this Weber Fern?

  1. #1
    Registered User rosewoodmusic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    11

    Default What's the scam on this Weber Fern?

    Here's the Craigslist link for a Weber Fern on Craigslist, supposedly located in Michigan:

    http://centralmich.craigslist.org/msg/1039925250.html

    I emailed thru Craigslist, and got this reply:

    John Mattson [mjhonarmy@gmail.com]

    Hi,

    Thanks for your inquiry. It is still for sale at the price of $1300. Everything is in perfect working order, and 100% original. You could not pick up as i am deployed with my job in England (unit is in US), but we still can get the ball rolling through eBay.

    Let me know. Thank you


    I'm not gonna reply to "John" at his gmail address. One of you guys can, if you want a great deal on a Weber Fern! I'm just kinda wondering where this would go from here if I were to respond to him. And if this is obviously a scam, I guess we could get on Craigslist and flag his ad. He's been on there for about a week without getting flagged.
    LaPlant F, Prucha A, D-18GE

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Ont. Canada
    Posts
    303

    Default Re: What's the scam on this Weber Fern?

    It's flagged for removal.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,761

    Default Re: What's the scam on this Weber Fern?

    Maybe the same "$1300" scam that was in this thread:
    http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/sh...hlight=%241300

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    B.C. Canada
    Posts
    817

    Default Re: What's the scam on this Weber Fern?

    I know for a fact that it is a scam.
    He also had a 1923 AJR listed in Wisconsin at the same time.
    He starts at $1800 and then a few days later he posts a new ad with minor changes and drops it to $1300.

  5. #5
    Martin Stillion mrmando's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    7,903

    Default Re: What's the scam on this Weber Fern?

    Yep, same scam. Now the scammer is in England for his work. That boy sure gets around ... he was here in WA just a few days ago.
    Notorious: My Celtic CD--listen & buy!

    The Priest and the Publicans: Gospel bluegrass out of the box.

    Emando.com: More than you wanted to know.

    Donaldson • Rigel • Thormahlen • Andersen • Old Wave • Bacorn • Yanuziello • Fender • National • Gibson • Roberts • Franke • Fuchs • Aceto • Three Hungry Pit Bulls

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •