Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rogue rm100a

I am halfway in the market to get a cheap mandolin to mess around with (I am a poor graduate student, so I can't succumb fully to MAS). I already have a very nice Eastman with mandovoodoo from Stephen Perry. However, I am gone a lot and my wife is the one who primarily plays it and is not willing to part with it (can I blame her?).

I came across an add for a brand new Rogue RM 100-A for only $49.99. I know there are better mandolins, and "if I only spent XXX more I could get XXX"... but what I want to know, is is this mandolin at least playable? I really just want something that will stay in tune and let me just mess around without getting too frustrated.

Let me know your thoughts.

Logically, Its a craps shoot, [ie game of chance] M F ships cartons from a big warehouse, none have been opened this side of the pacific ocean. no setup before sale, could be a klinker more likely than a diamond in the rough, or a solid lump of coal.

scout used off the classifieds , someone moving up the price points, at least it then has been played by someone and you can talk about it.

if you have someone to do setup work on it where you live, and you are prepared to send back the ones that should never left the shop floor in China, .. after consulting with the fix it up guy, then you would be able to get something for about a C note. including local labor on it.
    writing about music
    is like dancing,
    about architecture

I gave one to a young relative last Christmas and it's fine, no trouble at all. Yes--in the case of this one at least--it's a very decent legitimate mandolin. The action is playable, intonation is fine, volume is respectable.

Stays in tune? No worse than most. ("Two things are sure when you're playing the mandolin: You'll never be in tune and you'll never be making any money." --Norman Blake)