Thread: New kid on the block

Hello all!
    I wasn't sure where to introduce myself so I thought I would just start here. I am more of a guitar player than a mandolinist but I'm certainly enthusiastic about it. I've been sort of an amateur mandolin admirer since I saw one of the masters, Bill Monroe, at a place called the Ash Grove in L.A. (now gone) He played there now and then and I was fortunate to see him. IIRC, he had the famous mandolin with him that had the Gibson logo removed.

I have three mandolins. One is a Martin Model A that my mother bought me in the early 1960's. I got that the week I saw Bill Monroe, LOL!

I also was fortunate enough to inherit three instruments from my Uncle in Columbus, Ohio around 1983. One is a 1923 Gibson TB-4 tenor banjo. The other two are a 1949 Gibson F-12 that was unplayed when I received it and the last is a 1917 Gibson Model A-3. I'm self-taught on the banjo and mandolin so I doubt I will be going on the road any time soon. Suffice it to say that I make up for lack of skill with my enthusiasm. LOL.

I wonder also. Is there a buy and sell section in this website. I'd like to see it if there is.

Regards to all. I feel that I will learn a lot listening to you all.

Regards,
    zigeuner (German for Gypsy....a nickname I got from my Harley-riding friends) #

1917 Gibson A-3, '64 Martin A, 2016 Rhodes F5R.

Welcome to the Cafe. Everything you wanted to know about the mandolin, and then some, can be found here. This is a great place - you can talk to both beginners and pros, builders, luthiers, and other great sources of information.

Registered User Tracy Ballinger's Avatar

Welcome, welcome! You'll learn more than you ever thought there was to know here.

Yes, there is a Classifieds section. At the top left of the screen, 2 lines below the 'Mandolin Cafe' logo, it says
    >Mandolin Cafe Home and then Classifieds

Have fun perusing (and drooling!) over the many fine instruments changing hands!

Tracy