Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Good songs for a beginner

I'm a beginner (like I started 6 weeks ago) and I'm looking for some songs to start learning that won't be too challenging. What did you use to help you get better?

So far, I'm learning Old Joe Clark and Ode to Joy.

Blog Entries

What kind of music do you want to play?
    A talent for trivializin' the momentous and complicatin' the obvious.

The entire staff
    funny....

Speaking from my own limited experience, I think it's important pick some pieces that you really like to start out with. For one, you've probably heard them a lot and so you know to some degree how the tunes go, where the changes occur, etc. Also it's a lot more fun the 20th, 30th, 50th time around playing a song you really like rather than one you're learning just to learn it.

Good luck. What a fun instrument the mandolin is.

Jason

"Aerodynamically the bumblebee shouldn’t be able to fly, but the bumblebee doesn’t know that so it goes on flying anyway."

Newell A5 #37, Glenn F5 #66, Eastman 615 #537,

I think that the simpler fiddle tunes are a great place to start. They'll help you learn the fretboard and give you a solid foundation on the instrument that you can apply to a number of different styles of music.

One practice tool I find useful in learning new fiddle tunes is a free MIDI player: The Vanbasco Midi Player

You can then download hundreds of MIDI files of fiddle tunes and slow the tempo down to your speed (and speed it up when you get better).

There are a lot of free midi files of fiddle tunes here: The Virtual Bluegrass Band
    --------------
    Kenneth Rainey
    Tangleweed
    http://tangleweed.org

The first 2 tunes I learned were Old Joe Clark and Arkansas Traveller, so you're halfway there!

I think my first was Over the Waterfall...
    Karen Escovitz
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Otter OM #1
    Brian Dean OM #32
    Old Wave Mandola #372
    Phoenix Neoclassical #256
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~