Thread: Morgan monroe

Cafe Members~

I'm new at mandolins and looking for something to start on. I've looked at different stores in my area, and I've found one store that I feel comfortable with. They don't carry a lot of mandolins in stock at once (only about 6), but they're good quality and the people are knowledgeable. Right now, they have Morgan Monroe M-F1 for about $550, which is about my price limit. I don't know much about Morgan Monroe, so I was wondering they it was a good brand at a good price. It's solid wood. I don't want a cheap instrument because then I won't be motivated to practice. Would this be a good beginner type mandolin? They other mandolins they have in stock are way over my budget. Any suggestions? Thanks!
    Be true to your teeth, or they'll be false to you!

Howdy Sweetpea. I own a Morgan Monroe mms-8, which is supposedly one of thier better ones. Here is my honest opinion..If I knew then what I know now, I would have bought a Kentucky. Not that there is anything really wrong with the mandolin, especially after Ive spent about a hundred bucks getting it tweaked and setup, but I now know fully that I could have gotten much more bang for my buck with a Kentucky. There are a few Kentucky's at the local shop here that cost $400 less than what I spent and they are all hands down better instruments in every department (except maybe looks). For around $300 bucks you can get an "A" style with a radiused fingerboard (easier to play), and Id be willing to bet that with the proper setup, It will sound better than the Morgan Monroe. I know that those sound better than mine, and they play much easier. Just my 2 cents. Good luck!
    -Ben

Hey Sweetpea44, Welcome to the Cafe!