Thread: So what about sharpening?

Thanks to the many voices who chimed in on my question about chisels. In the end I got a 6 chisel set from Garrett-Wade made in Czech for a good price with a wood box for protection. They seem nice, need some honing, but are sharp for now. I think they are a good set to begin with. I will look to add a couple gouges as well.

So now my new question - since I am just getting into this - are all sharpening stones the same? Some better than others? What should I look for? Also any ideas on "systems" and their usefulness would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Kirk Albrecht
    Eastman 315
    Epiphone MM-20
    Martin D-16H
    MIJ reissue 62 Strat
    Gregory Furan custom L-49

get yourself a honing guide,and a course medium and fine/Xtra fine stone. i like the japanese stones.but the honing guide is a must have for plane blades and chisels.

I would recommend getting Leonard Lee's DVD on sharpening from Lee Valley.
    Paul Josey

Arkansas stones are good, Japanese water stones are good, and there are probably others that are good.
    For starting from scratch, I'd recommend the water stones. I use Arkansas stones as much or more than water stones, but that's because I've had them for years, and I'm used to them.
    I don't use honing guides on stones, never have, and I don't consider them necessities, but they are sure handy, especially starting out.

The DVD is probably a good idea, though I haven't seen it and can't say for sure.

If you know someone who is good at sharpening, watching and getting some pointers might help, and seeing and feeling what "sharp" really is would be good so you know what the goal is.

There's a good chance you'll need to lap the backs of your new chisels, and re-grind the bevels before you can get them really sharp.

This is a good tutorial:

http://www.antiquetools.com/sharp/

The article is written by Maurice Fraser.
    And now for today's weather....sunny, with a chance of legs