Thread: Sharpening systems

I have a ton of sharpening to do. I can sharpen with a stone, but have a lot to do.

I'd love a tormek, but cant afford it.

I am looking at the following:

Harbor Freight

Grizzly

Delta

woodcraft

I have gauges, chisels, andplanes to sharpen mostly (oh and those lathe tools too)

I'd appreciate any input you have.

--ad

Try this Scarysharp Cheap. Simple. Effective.

Unless you are using laminated blades like the japanese tools I would reccomend any of the grinders that will leave a hollow on the bevel side. The flat stones do a great job, but when it gets to honing your edge you will appreciate the hollow space the round stones leave.

Greg

An artist has to deal with his own inner demons.
    A craftsman has to deal with his clients.

Several times, I've almost bought one of those Harbor Freight grinders. Even if I eventually do, I'd still final finish with a method I've been using for many years that sort of resembles what is nowdays called "scareysharp" like Greg mentioned above. Hip Ol' dudes been using wet or dry fine grades of automotive sandpaper on a flat surface for sharpening things since back when the stuff was invented.

BTW... if you opt to use paper abrasives to finish hone, a lot of times you'll be admonished to get a big piece of glass to use for a base. I've found that is not necessary if you have a good smooth piece of Formica topped counter/table or a sink cutout if the Formica is one of their smooth surfaced ones. That is entirely flat enough to do anything in the way of surfacing you will encounter in the real world if it is in good condition.

Ron

My wife says I don't pay enough attention to what she says....
    (Or something like that...)