Thread: New bouzouki player

Hi people, I just got married a few weeks ago and there is an old Swedish tradition that the man gives his new wife a precious gift, as an insurance if something happens to him. Now, this won't pay the bills if something would happen, but anyway, my husband gave me an Irish bouzouki the morning after our wedding day. I play the mandolin and have been talking about that it would be nice to also play the bouzouki.

So, here I am with a brand new bouzouki and I'm a complete beginner. I have played some guitar and now the mandolin for the last 10 years but not much rhythm really, apart from bluegrass chops on the mandolin.
    I have the zouk tuned ADAD or GCGC to make the chording easier, I previously tried GDAD but found it quite difficult to play chords, I may try that tuning again later if I decide to play melodies, but at the moment my aim is to play chords only with some fills and things related.

I'm looking for some good tutor book or CD-rom/DVD to help me learn, I have Tim O'Brien's mandolin/bouzouki DVD but it's not really for beginners even if it is a great inspiration. The chords are no problem it seems, but I need some help with strumming patterns and other playing techniques that may be nice for playing Irish music. Any suggestions? Does anyone know anything about Jim Cowdery's EXPLORING THE BOUZOUKI?