Thread: From Bill Cheatam to Bill Monroe

Hi folks,

I've been lurking for a couple of weeks, and reading some of the older topics before I chimed in with my first question.

For background, I've played guitar for about 25 years, most of that time as the singer in various rock bands, but since I was never the "lead" guitarist (I got demoted(?) to singer in my first band) I became very lazy about actually practicing my guitar; therefore I am a mediocre guitarist, at best. I do however have a pretty fair understanding (but certainly not mastery) of music theory.

I've recently begun to get a lot of enjoyment out of rediscovering the old-time country and gospel music that was ever-present in my home when I was young. So, that has kindled a desire to learn to play the mandolin.

Acknowledging my past lack of commitment to the guitar, I bought a very cheap Rogue mandolin from Musician's Friend to learn the basics and see if it is something I would like to pursue further. (I fully realize that I will need to upgrade before long if I stick with this, but I have to say that for $40 I am pleasantly surprised by the Rogue.) I've had it for about 2 weeks now, along with Bert Casey's Primer book & DVD.

Things are going well so far. The Casey Primer was probably just what I needed to have the basics laid out for me, and to learn a few simple tunes. However, I can also see that I am quickly absorbing this material (technique-wise), and the internet is chock full of tab for new songs. I have a pretty good idea of how to put together a series of exercises to develop basic scale familiarity, and I've already taken a look at the FFcP material here, and plan to incorporate that. I'm also working on getting some major chords ingrained in my "finger-memory". (I never expected a mandolin chord would require such a pinky-stretch like on that "G" chop chord.)