Thread: hora zouk as an octave mandolin

So, I have read that the hora zouk(also troubador zouk as I have read) can be strung up as an octave mandolin as well as bouzouki, my question is, if strung up as an octave mandolin, will the stretch be greater than that of a standard octave mandolin, like say a trinity college or johnson with a 20' 3/4 length scale, since the hora has a scale length of 23'. also, does scale length refer to the length of the neck or what, I am new to stringed instruments and still trying to figure it all out.

halfling-
    scale length is the length of the active part of the string... measured between the bridge and the nut. Of course, the length of the neck is related to scale length.
    And where the frets are placed are calculated in relation to scale length. So... YES, the longer the scale, the longer the stretch of your fretting hand.

re: OM vs. 'zouk....
    the differences between these (as long as we're not talking about the Greek zouks, which are somewhat different... see other thread) are mostly about scale length and tuning. 23' is at the low end of zouk scales... and the high end of OM scales, typically. Zouks are more often used (I think) in alternate tunings with more open string sounds, where OM's may be more frequently simply tuned an octave below the mando. But these things are not totally standardized, and there's a lot of variation among players. Any zouk can be tuned an octave below mandolin tuning, and an OM can be tuned any way you want..it's just a matter of what string gauges would work best.

Which is right for you? Depends on hand size, what you like to play (a lot of notes/melodic lines or 2-3 finger chords), what you can afford, etc.

hope this is helpful...
    KE
    Karen Escovitz
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Otter OM #1
    Brian Dean OM #32
    Old Wave Mandola #372
    Phoenix Neoclassical #256
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    If you're gonna walk on thin ice, you might as well dance!

hey, thanks a bunch