Thread: Tuning 440 Hz?  442?

The guys in my group and I got on this subject when we first got some of the Seiko STX1 clip-on tuners, see this thread on the equipment board- LINK This tuner has a series of red lights at 439, 440, 441, 442, etc. The odd thing is that the green light comes on at 441, the lights next to the other numbers are red, indicating that 441 is "standard", at least to the people at Seiko. We disregard the green light and tune to 440 like we're used to. I am not an expert on this subject by any means, and I read a post from another forum HERE that says wind instruments are made for A-442 and for A-445. Could this be the reason why the green light is on 441 and not 440, some kind of compromise? If anyone is willing to shed some light on this topic in general, I'd love to learn more.
    My original IV mandolin kit blog- http://makingamandolin.blogspot.com/

As far as I know, International standard A has been 440 Hz since the 1930's.

All the common wind instruments I have ever seen can be tuned by adjusting a slide or the mouthpiece, so the idea of tehm being made to a different standard makes no sense.

The main reason for being able to alter the standard pitch is for playing with pianos, which often vary in their tuning.

I don't think ya can compromise in this dept...either your in tune or out. I have tuned with my tuner mistakenly on a different freq and recognized it immediately. I could be wrong
    Look up (to see whats comin down)

We were wrong about that tuner anyway, see the linked post again.
    My original IV mandolin kit blog- http://makingamandolin.blogspot.com/

Actually, tuning has been going up I think. Some orchestras tune to 442 because they want a brighter sound. There hasn't always been standard tuning either. I'm not sure how perfect pitch works in with that. Maybe it's part nurture. I mean do folks with perfect pitch in eastern societies where there's quarter tones and such have problems listening?