Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Marty Stuart

Just thought I would share something : As a librarian("day gig"!#), many books cross my desk. Most I process and send on "down the line". Occasionly something will "pique" my interest and I'll snag it for a time(or more!). This one caught my attention - and emotion(s): "From Every Stage: Images of America's Roots Music"(University of Mississippi Press, 2005). On page 93 there is a short interview with Marty Stuart. I quote: "...first and foremost I am a Bluegrass musician. Anything I do has been added on to that. I'll never lose the effect Lester Flatt[had on me]." -'nuff said! - RIP Lester - your memory - and music - are in good hands. Thanks. Moose.

I agree, Moose. #Many bluegrass pioneers were high tenors (Bill Monroe, Bobby Osborne, Jimmy Martin, Ralph Stanley and John Duffey). #Others pitched their vocals down a bit more (Carter Stanley, Mac Wiseman and Red Smiley). #But ol' Lester could make bluegrass work with a deep modulated delivery. #To me, his voice was about as smooth as Tennessee sippin' whiskey #Or 10W30 motor oil! #

Here, here to both of ya.

Jimmy Martin was not a high tenor!
    Aaron Garrett

But Lester could sing a great tenor when he wanted to.
    What The ....

Arnhem, the Netherlands; Nanjing, China; Ithaca NY USA

I well remember Marty as a young teenager in Lester's band, in person and on the early morning (0545?) WSM show, around 1974-76. His voice hadn't broken yet and his singing was ... painful... but his mando picking was ridiculously good. My band was invited once as special guests to one of their shows, and after one of Marty's solos, my band leader turned to me and said "doesn't that make you want to go home and smash your instruments and swallow all your flatpicks??". Lester sure "imprinted" on Marty at a very impressionable age. But don't forget the Sullivan family (good BG gospel group), Marty did a lot with them growing up in Mississippi.

Here he tis