Thread: Hora Mandolins

First of all, here's my story:

I'm a guitarist of 6 years and would consider myself to be fairly accomplished for the limited time I've played. I have a home studio and record music that I write. I like to implement all sorts of aural elements into my music, prompting me to gobble up anything that makes an interesting sound. My most recent acquisition was a cheap chromaharp and it has already brought me great joy.

I've been considering investing in a mandolin for a number of reasons. 1) It's an instrument I would genuinely like to learn to play; 2) I love the sounds it can put out and think it would make for some interesting solo and lead sounds in my music; and 3) I would like to eventually be able to play the mandolin at the level I play guitar, using it live and such. Right now guitar is the only instrument of my several that I feel comfortable enough to do that with.

So I've been browsing Ebay, Folk of the Wood, and this wonderful site for some information on a good mandolin to get for my purposes. I am a junior in college and money is tight. And by tight I mean it's probably bad that I'm even buying Taco Bell for lunch every now and then. So, I'm looking for a wonderfully cheap yet halfway decent instrument.

I happened across a manufacturer called Hora out of Romania. I was only able to find a little bit of information on them on these boards. Their mandolins are extremely affordable. Their selection can be seen here: http://www.hora.ro/pages/mandolins.htm
    Their laminated Portuguese model mandolins come in at a mere $85 US, but oddly enough the solid models of the same mandolins are only $1.50 more at $86.50. They also have the RG II mandola for $106. (by the way, what is the difference between a mandolin and mandola?)