Thread: is a tenor for me?

Default is a tenor for me?

Hi All,
    I started playing mandolin almost exactly a year ago, and have had a great time of it. I practice at least 1/2 hour a day, more on the weekends. Last august I wanted to add something more to the mix so I bought a TC bouzouki. As much as I love the mandolin, it is not so much with the bouzouki. I like the sound, but the fingering is much harder and I have to capo to the 3rd fret to manage. Tried tuning GDAE and then GDAD and can play a few chords but it is slow and cumbersome to me. Still want something in the same register so after searching the web, it seems like a tenor might fit me and my hands better. Would the tenor be easier than the bouzouki?
    Suggestions?
    Thanks

Default Re: is a tenor for me?

Quote Originally Posted by kedge View Post
    Would the tenor be easier than the bouzouki?
    Suggestions?
    Thanks
    Well, it's 50% easier to tune...You might want to try a shorter OM scale instrument, either 8 or 4 string. GDAD or GDAE. That won't be such a big leap.

Nigel

http://www.nkforsterguitars.com/inst.../tenor-guitar/

The bouzouki scale length is 26 1/4 inches, so a tenor guitar at 23 inches or 21 inches would definitely be easier to play. I like my 23 inch scale tenor guitars, but if you're switching between mandolin and tenor guitar a 21 inch scale tenor guitar might be better.
    Blueridge BR-60T Tenor Guitar
    Eastwood Warren Ellis 2P Tenor Guitar

Bark first, Bite later Steve Zawacki's Avatar

Went through a similar evolution, going from 6-string guitar to mandolin, tenor guitar, tenor banjo and ukuleke. The mandolin is still fun, but as an old guitar guy, really missed the deeper guitar sound.

As far as the tenor guitar goes, wish I found it 30 years ago. A lot of instruments have come-and-gone, but the tenor guitar (Blueridge 40T) is the true keeper. Have flip-flopped from GDAE and CGDA, and have settled on CGDA.
    ...Steve