Thread: Beginner upgrade (that poor dead horse)

Default Beginner upgrade (that poor dead horse)

I know that these discussions are ALL OVER the site but I'm going to beat the dead horse some more. I have a Michael Kelly A Solid I bought around 2004 from Folk of the Woods. It was an upgrade from something that had picture hanging nails holding the strings into the tail piece. I never really went crazy with it as I've been a lowly drummer my whole life but every once in a while would go on a binge. Well the binge seems to be sticking now since I semi retired from drums and moved the mando to the living room. I'm still just above beginner, not quite (maybe approaching) intermediate but was thinking about an upgrade. What I'm wondering is will there be a substantial difference between the 13 year old $300 mando and something in the neighborhood of $700? I don't have access to anything other than your standard big box store mandos here in SW CT (Fender, Ibanez, Epiphone, etc) so playing first is unlikely, which I hate the idea of. My MK really isn't a bad instrument, I'm wondering if a good tune up with some refretting and maybe replacing the bridge would make me regret buying an Eastman 505 or something similar (one of those J Bovier black tops really catch my eye). This Michael Kelly was when they were still made in Korea. From what I'm reading it seems as of late the company is very inconsistent but I don't see much written about the older models.

Gibson F5L Gibson A5L
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Beginner upgrade (that poor dead horse)

IMO in view of the fact that you have nowhere near to shop you purchase your next mandolin from a mandolin friendly store. Dennis Vance at The Mandolin store https://themandolinstore.com/ or from Robert Fear at https://www.folkmusician.com/