Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Wasburn vs Luna vs Michael Kelly?

Default Wasburn vs Luna vs Michael Kelly?

I recently have been wanted to get a mandolin that is a bit better than what I'm currently using (Rogue A style) however, being a college student I cannot afford a higher end mandolin at this time such as an Eastman or Gretsch.

I'd like to get an F-style and possibly an electric acoustic.
    I went to play some mandolins in person, I played an F-style fender f63s, a washburn ms3w, and some sort of electric eastman that i cannot remember the number for. I did not like the feel of the fender or the eastman (not that I could normally afford one, but this was on sale for about $500) I did enjoy the feel of the washburn as well as another washburn which was an A style (m1sdl) and I really like the sound that came out of it.

Looking online I found a luna moonbird f style, which was pretty unique looking and is electric, as well as a washburn ms3we which is also electric. I cannot find any information on the luna so If any one has any experience with them please share, as I am only familiar with their guitars. I also have found a Michael Kelly legacy mandolin (MKLFSTBS) blem at folkmusician for $500, which seems like a good deal.

This post probably seems a bit scatter brained, but I would really like to hear from you guys what you think of any of these instruments!

Thanks!

2. The following members say thank you to LochJessMonster for this post:

Default Re: Wasburn vs Luna vs Michael Kelly?

1. Overall, I'd advise to get the best acoustic mandolin you can for your $500 (assuming that's your budget), and retrofit it with an aftermarket piezo transducer -- unless you want to get into fairly aggressive rock-ish playing, and want the sound of a magnetic pickup. Get all solid woods, carved top and back rather than heat-pressed, and don't pay a bunch extra for fancy inlays and (often too-thick) flashy finish.