Thread: Proper technique questions

Default Proper technique questions

Hey everyone,
    I have some very greenhorn sounding questions, which is fine on my end because I'm not trying to pretend I'm anything but.

I've watched through a many of the free tutorials offered on the internet, and I can play the songs and jigs I've learned relatively fast and with decent accuracy (these are also pretty simple tunes like washerwoman, glasgow, st anne's reel etc.) However I have some bad habits.

I tend to down stroke every note, I have terrible posture, and I only recently actually started forcing myself to use a pick. Some of you are probably face palming right now and I don't blame you.

The lack of a pick and using only a downward picking motion (terminology please? Sorry) mainly came from my transition from guitar, which I was also self taught. I used thumbpicks when I did use a pick on guitar, however I mostly just did a finger picking style on a 12-string.

So what I'm wondering, is this way of picking a bad habit? Should I try to correct this or should I do what works? I've also ordered a strap to help with posture.
    Any suggestions, comments, or criticism would greatly help!
    Thanks!

Blog Entries

Default Re: Proper technique questions

I am going to defer on answering to let former and current guitar pickers have a go at this. I wouldn't call any style of picking a bad habit if it produces the results you want. On the other hand ...

But I do want to welcome you to the Cafe. We have lots of recovering guitar pickers here. Even a few recovering banjo pickers.
    New to mando? Click this link -->Newbies to join us at the Newbies Social Group.

Just send an email to rob.meldrum@gmail.com with "mandolin setup" in the subject line and he will email you a copy of his ebook for free (free to all mandolincafe members).

My website and blog: honketyhank.com

Fingerpicking a 12 string? Seems like that would be tough to get both strings to sound.