Thread: Leather Cord in the Strings?

Default Leather Cord in the Strings?

So I'm new to the wonderful world of mandolins. What is the purpose, in some mandolins, of the leather cord woven between the strings between the bridge and the tailpiece? Is it to cut down on unwanted inter-string harmonics? Or is there some other purpose?

Default Re: Leather Cord in the Strings?

The strings past the bridge can sometimes ring a bit with out of tune tones. Some people use grommets or a bit of leather or string to eliminate that. Some people don't have the problem. I tried it and my mandolin got louder and clearer because only the played notes were ringing.

Yes, some people put them between nut and tuners as well. May not need them if you're a heel of hand planter, and you can also use rubber grommets: http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/sh...r-the-Mandolin, or the Weber wood nymph: http://webermandolins.com/features/wood-nymphs. I think the 2 sides of velcro would work. I use velcro between nut and 1st fret of guitars sometimes, that's what the Chapman stick and other "touch guitars" use (i think it's the hook side of velcro)
    Kentucky km900
    Yamaha piano, clarinet, violin; generic cello;
    a pedal steel (highly recommended); banjo, dobro don't get played much cause i'm considerate ;}

Shopping/monitoring prices: vibraphone/marimbas, rhodes, synths, Yamaha brass and double reeds

Yep. The only negative, IMO, to dampening those strings is that it makes it tough to go all Thile, like when he strums the strings below the bridge and above the nut to add a little percussive dissonance...about the only Thile technique I can imitate well