Thread: Thinking of getting a Pava Satin A-5 but....

Default Thinking of getting a Pava Satin A-5 but....

I already own a Collings MT, so I'm wondering if there's enough difference between the two to satisfy my MAS. Of the threads I've read here there seems to be nothing bad about the Pava. I've been playing bass guitar since age 13. I'm 53 now and have been playing in a praise band in a large church in metro Atlanta since 1998. I'm still pretty new to mandolin but I've always been one to get a good instrument at the start. It seems to make me practice more when I have a quality instrument. When I get better on mandolin my plan is to add it to some of our worship songs, so I doubt if I will ever play any bluegrass with a group. What's your thoughts on the difference between the two?

Blog Entries

Default Re: Thinking of getting a Pava Satin A-5 but....

I enjoyed owning both at the same time. Kept the Pava but wouldn't mind the Collings back.
    The Collings MT had an overall brighter sound than the Pava. The Collings neck ever slightly more V.
    The Pava has a more pronounced mid response so it seemed a little richer or darker - how ever you describe that difference.

IMO the Collings and the Pava are equally capable with subtle differences. If your main goal is looking to cure MAS from a Collings MT you might want to aim higher, skip the satin Pava side step, and shoot for varnish finish, bound neck and back, better hardware, and a tone that hits the highlights from both the Collings and Pava
    Last edited by Mark Wilson; Feb-16-2017 at 10:29pm.

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mark Wilson For This Useful Post: