Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Choosing the right beginner mandolin

Default Choosing the right beginner mandolin

I am relatively new to the Cafe and totally new to mandolins. I am looking for a beginner mandolin. Originally, I was leaning towards a KM 140, but after reading on this site I decided to go with a KM 150. I plan on buying from Folkmusician. Unfortunately, they are out of stock. I did notice that they have a KM 156 which seems to have the same specifications (different color) as the 150 and sells for the same price. I did look up this model on the net but really did not find very much in the line of reviews. I also noticed a few other models while a little more expensive (about $50). The models are KM 250, KM 256. So does anyone have any information on the KM 156, KM 250 and?or the KM 256. I would prefer to go with the KM 156, if it is a good model, because of the price $329.95 delivered. Regardless which mandolin I end out getting I plan on having it set up

From all that I have read people seem to like the Kentucky's as a beginner mandolin above the other brands. So what do you folks think

Thank,
    Paul

Default Re: Choosing the right beginner mandolin

I started with a used Loar LM 220, which is a nice starter mandolin. The most important thing with a beginner mandolin is a good set-up. Most dealers on this site set-up the mandolins before shipping them out (if you buy from a dealer here, read their policies.) A lot of people recommend the Kentucky, I am just letting you know good deals can be had with other instruments. Folkmusician sets up their mandolins before shipping, AFAIK.

Blog Entries

What kind of music do you like?

Are you sure you want an archtop?

Does it have to be new?
    A talent for trivializin' the momentous and complicatin' the obvious.

The entire staff
    funny....

4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to JeffD For This Useful Post: