Thread: Proper pick orientation

Default Proper pick orientation

I just started playing about 2 weeks ago. This are going really well, progressing fairly quickly. But I've noticed a habit, I don't do it consciously but the pick hits the strings with the more rounded corner, rather than the sharper corner that is supposed to hit the strings. Does this make a difference?

Marc Jacobs

Default Re: Proper pick orientation

Yes, it makes a difference, but that doesn't mean it's inherently wrong or a problem with your playing right now. As you practice more, you'll find even tiny changes in pick angle (e.g. pitch, yaw, roll), pick location (e.g. position between neck and bridge), and pick grip (e.g. loose vs tight grip, large vs small contact area), not to mention the pick's material and design itself, can all have major changes in tone and accuracy. Two weeks in, you're juggling so many new concepts and skills that I wouldn't worry too much about it. Once you achieve basic control and comfort with your mandolin, you'll no doubt revisit this.

Peter - It seems that you have the problem that i used to have when i began playing - the pick is rotating in your fingers. Try pressing a tiny amount of BluTak or any 'tacky' substance onto the pick surface where you grip it - anything sugary will do.
    It just creates enough extra grip to prevent the pick from rotating.

From marcja - "....(e.g. pitch, yaw, roll)" . Have you been anywhere near the aircraft industry at all ?,
    Ivan
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1280px-Flight_dynamics_with_text.png 
Views:	79 
Size:	364.5 KB 
ID:	153526
    Weber F-5 'Fern'.
    Lebeda F-5 "Special".
    Stelling Bellflower BANJO
    Tokai - 'Tele-alike'.
    Ellis DeLuxe "A" style.

A lot of people actually prefer the rounded corner. At two weeks in, I wouldn't sweat it. Plenty of time to work on details down the road. For now, I would just try to get used to making reasonably pleasant sounds with the thing.
    Mitch Russell