Thread: Upgrading to a new mandolin advice

Default Upgrading to a new mandolin advice

I bought a cheap Rogue A style mandolin a while back because I wasn't sure how much I'd actually play. It's pretty nice for being 50 bucks but now I'm looking to upgrade as I play a lot and have progressed pretty well. Now I still consider myself a beginner I'm self taught and certainly not very talented so I don't want to spend too much probably in the $300-$500 range. I play bluegrass and my favorite player is Bill Monroe so naturally I want an F style. So what are some good F style mandolins within my price range? Thanks.

Default Re: Upgrading to a new mandolin advice

There is this Kentucky in the classifieds.......

http://www.mandolincafe.com/ads/106739#106739

A used Eastman 315 would be a good choice too.

Good luck with your hunt!
    Charley

A bunch of stuff with four strings

My Florida is scooped pheffernan's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by benhinshaw0917 View Post
    Now I still consider myself a beginner I'm self taught and certainly not very talented so I don't want to spend too much probably in the $300-$500 range. I play bluegrass and my favorite player is Bill Monroe so naturally I want an F style. So what are some good F style mandolins within my price range?
    Well, Bill Monroe's F5 is probably worth a million bucks, and while its value is certainly affected by provenance, other Gibsons of that era are offered for sale in the $150-$200K range. So there might not be a good F style mandolin within your price range. The best F style at that price point might be a used The Loar LM520:

http://www.mandolincafe.com/ads/106561#106561

You could also keep an eye out for a used Eastman MD315, although a lot of people would recommend that you opt instead for an A-style like the Kentucky KM150.
    1924 Gibson A Snakehead
    2005 National RM-1
    2007 Hester A5
    2009 Passernig A5
    2015 Black A2-z
    2010 Black GBOM
    2017 Poe Scout