Thread: Hammer on question...

Default Hammer on question...

I've decided to try to learn the melody and accompaniment for "The Rights of Man" as arranged by John McGann in his octave mandolin book. (It will take me a while, I think.)

As I started playing, there's some hammer ons on intervals 0-2 and 4-5 on D string right away... but a few bars later, there's 2-5 and 0-5 on the A string.

The first hammer ons work no problem on either regular mandolin or octave (I have both.) However, I struggle to get any sound out of the second notes on the A string on EITHER instrument. The tone just dies.

Any videos or whatever that anyone can recommend for how to practice/do this properly?

Thanks!

Default Re: Hammer on question...

Do you also struggle on the G and E strings, or is the A string a particular problem? Since you can hammer successfully on the D, I'd guess that the G works too - both courses of wound strings are a bit easier for many people. Mandolin is harder than octave to achieve good hammer-on results as the scale is shorter and the tension higher.

How high are the A strings above the fretboard compared with the others? If you have different string heights this may give you problems too. I find that hammer-ons need a slightly higher action, but others may well say differently. Bring your fingertip down firmly and cleanly just behind the fret and with a strong hammer action and keep it there for the note's duration; but you are probably already doing this as you can get success on the D string!

Here is a link to my version of The Drunken Piper played on mandolin. Around 56 seconds I alter the rhythm and begin using hammer-ons to simulate the bagpipe ornaments and you'll see that most of them are on the A and E courses. Don't know how much help this will be to you, but you might just spot something that can help.

I'm playing all the right notes, but not necessarily in the right order. - Eric Morecambe

http://www.youtube.com/user/TheOldBores