Thread: Mandolin misbehaving or not?

Default Mandolin misbehaving or not?

I am very new to the mandolin, but think the Eastman MD 315 f is a good mandolin for the money, or for a starter instrument. I just put new strings on using GHS A270, because there was,and still is a problem at least as I perceive it to be. Thought the string were getting old, but the strings sound great even the E strings until I press down, then the E strings sound out of tune , no matter what my tuner is saying, unless I use a very light touch, then they sound good. This does not happen on any of the other strings. Is there something I am not doing right or is there an underling problem with the E? Hope I am relating this so it is understandable, because the sound is very ugly, keeping me from enjoying it as much as I should be able to. Also my intonation seems good even with the E string. Thanks for looking.

Blog Entries

Default Re: Mandolin misbehaving or not?

Assuming you are not merely squeezing the skinny E strings too hard, it is fairly likely the E pair are not equal heights in the nut. If one is high it will fret sharp compared to the other. Visual inspection (compare to the other pairs) will suggest if this is the case. It's pretty common. If this is more noticeable in the lowest frets it is very likely the problem.

A small height difference can cause a large pitch difference near the nut, where the most deflection angle happens.
    Bandcamp -- https://tomwright1.bandcamp.com/
    Videos--YouTube
    Sound Clips--SoundCloud
    The viola is proof that man is not rational

3. The following members say thank you to Tom Wright for this post:

pickmo