Thread: Deconstructing Stella

This one was an eBay buy some time ago, all mahogany as far as I can determine. The back was partly off, so I figured I'd open it up altogther, fix whatever cracks (one or two); reglue braces, clean it up. Very interesting how crudely this was made. It was budget instrument but compared to the cheapest Pacrim stuff now, this is pretty primitive from the inside. Of course most people don't see or care as long as it plays all right, which it probably does.

The braces are pretty hefty and show lots of signs of file marks etc. Lots of glue drips all over the thing, tho it is possible that some are not factory original.

If any one has any further suggestions as to best repair it, I would appreciate it. I am not a pro but figured this one is fine to experiment with.

Jim

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	stella_bktopins_sm.jpg 
Views:	178 
Size:	68.5 KB 
ID:	8968  
    Jim

My Stream on Soundcloud
    Facebook
    19th Century Tunes
    Playing lately:
    1924 Gibson A4 - 2018 Campanella A-5 - 2007 Brentrup A4C - 1915 Frank Merwin Ashley violin - Huss & Dalton DS - 1923 Gibson A2 black snakehead - '83 Flatiron A5-2 - 1939 Gibson L-00 - 1936 Epiphone Deluxe - 1928 Gibson L-5 - ca. 1890s Fairbanks Senator Banjo - ca. 1923 Vega Style M tenor banjo - ca. 1920 Weymann Style 25 Mandolin-Banjo - National RM-1

Here is another view of it with the back removed.

Jim

Name:	stella_topins2_sm.jpg 
Views:	171 
Size:	36.0 KB 
ID:	8969  
    Jim

My Stream on Soundcloud
    Facebook
    19th Century Tunes
    Playing lately:
    1924 Gibson A4 - 2018 Campanella A-5 - 2007 Brentrup A4C - 1915 Frank Merwin Ashley violin - Huss & Dalton DS - 1923 Gibson A2 black snakehead - '83 Flatiron A5-2 - 1939 Gibson L-00 - 1936 Epiphone Deluxe - 1928 Gibson L-5 - ca. 1890s Fairbanks Senator Banjo - ca. 1923 Vega Style M tenor banjo - ca. 1920 Weymann Style 25 Mandolin-Banjo - National RM-1