Thread: Newish to Mandolin, Teacher advice.

Question Newish to Mandolin, Teacher advice.

Hello Mandolin Cafe,
    I guess this will be my introduction post along with a question.
    Background: (TLDR; I am not completely new to music but I am new to Mandolin. Just started lessons with a guitar teacher who dabbles in mandolin.)
    I am so far a self taught beginner Mandolin player. When I first started playing about a year and a half ago, I bought a Rouge100 and picked up "The American Mandolin Method" by Brian Wicklund and Ben Winship along with the "Dummies Guide to Mandolin" by Don Julin. The first book was honestly my go to for learning, its just sheet music with blurbs. Though the dummies guide was an excellent in depth guide for most of my questions.
    I have basically learned to play Melodies. Since I progressed with the instrument I thought it was time to buy a quality mandolin, so I bought a Kentucky 505 in the beginning of summer (I can play for hours on her.)
    I can read music from playing Clarinet when I was younger but this is my first time with an Acoustic instrument. (Never touched guitar.) Currently I am working on my first chords and some strumming rhythms and not sure where to go with that.

Fast forward to a couple weeks ago, I went to my closest music store and signed up for Mandolin lessons. I feel like I'm in a rut and want to make sure the things I have learned are correct and to get more knowledge and confidence as a player. The teacher I have mainly teaches Guitar and has taught himself some Mandolin. The lessons are cheap (20$) and half hour long. A key thing to note is, there are no other mandolin teachers near me and I am not interested in doing online courses with a teacher (though I do look for music and information from other resources online. Shout out to Mandolessons and Mandolinsessions)