Thread: going from mandolin to mandola

Default going from mandolin to mandola

I'm new to mandola having just bought a Collings MT. Forgive me if this is stupid but how would you begin in arranging a mandolin piece for mandola without playing it like a mandolin. Another way to ask: how would you go about for instance, taking a mandolin tablature and turning it into a mandola piece without playing the same notes and having to make that trip way up the A string? thanks

Blog Entries

Default Re: going from mandolin to mandola

Well you have choices. One thing you can do, and which I really enjoyed, is to capo two and drop down a string, and play like normal. That makes you come in an octave below the mandolins.

Another thing one can do is to figure out cool backup and counter melodies that fit what is going on with the melody line.

If I am playing alone, I just pretend it is a mandolin and play it that way, so it sounds a fifth low. I'm alone, who cares. I have heard it said that this is better for those who sing, because it gets the range below the voice, not competing with it.

In classical ensembles one can learn to read alto clef, and play the viola parts. I worked at this for a while and it is also great fun.

Of course there is taking advantage of the opportunity of being forced to play up the neck.
    A talent for trivializin' the momentous and complicatin' the obvious.

The entire staff
    funny....

Pittsburgh Bill
    Blog Entries

1.Drop down a string
    Or
    2.Learn to read C cleft
    Or
    3. Play it as you do your Mandolin and keep a copy of "Circle of Fifths" nearby as a handy reference for either knowing what key you are playing in or for changing keys to follow other players.

I can't speak for tab as it doesn't work for me. (Though I wish at times that it did)
    Big Muddy EM8 solid body (Mike Dulak's final EM8 build)
    Kentucky KM-950
    Weber Gallatin A Mandola "D hole"
    Rogue 100A (current campfire tool & emergency canoe paddle)