Thread: Changing Strings.

Default Changing Strings.

So the time has come for me to give my Mandi a change of strings as the wound strings are starting to sound a bit dull. This isn't a problem, I've been changing guitar strings for 40 years or so but I'm not sure if there is a particular order I should change them in.
    With a guitar I would remove all the old ones first but with the Mandolin not having a fixed bridge it would make sense to change one at a time.
    Is there a recommended order to which course you start with?
    Jes Woodland
    Ozark 2001Mandolin
    Ozark 2223 Octave Mandolin

Gibson F5L Gibson A5L
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Changing Strings.

Well ... there are several YouTube videos on the subject. The one thing you don't want to do is remove all the strings at once as the bridge on most mandolins is floating and resetting them to the correct place takes time and patience. Personally I remove the four lowest in pitch strings , replace and tune them to pitch then do the same with the two higher pitch pairs so I am replacing then four at a time. Some folks replace them one pair at a time others one string at a time. The reason I do them in groups of four is that it gives me an opportunity to clean any dust off the headstock and face and clean the callus detritus off the fingerboard with a damp cloth. It also leaves enough tension on the bridge to keep it in place. Eventually floating bridges move and have to be adjusted from being bumped or whatever. When the intonation is "off" on your mandolin you can take that opportunity to completely and carefully clean your mandolin and then reset the bridge.