Thread: Old or new?

Default Old or new?

I'm new to this world, but already looking ahead to my next purchase. I'm drawn to old wood by nature, my guitars being in the older but not scary expensive vintage. 1965 Epiphone Texan, 1980 Martin M36, and Guild 1970 D 35.

So if I were going to drop $2000 on an instrument, is there anything older I should look at that would compete with a used Collings MT, Silverangel, Weber, or other?

I have no problem sticking with the A style, but it would need to be a significant upgrade over my Eastman MD 505.

I'm too new to have a mandolin style, so lets say old time bordering on bluegrass capable.

Default Re: Old or new?

I had great luck with a teens Gibson A 2. It was easy to play and had a sweet sound.

I love my teens Gibson A too, but wouldn't call it exactly 'bluegrass capable.'
    "The paths of experimentation twist and turn through mountains of miscalculations, and often lose themselves in error and darkness!"
    --Leslie Daniel, "The Brain That Wouldn't Die."

Some tunes: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCa1...SV2qtug/videos

For $2000, and willing to go to an A-style, I'd be buying a Pava. That will definitely get you a used one (if you can find one). Best bang for the buck, IMHO.

For bluegrass, in your price range, an older instrument is probably 80's or 90's, in which case a Gibson A5L might do the trick for you..

Early 20s Gibson, depending on condition/model/whatnot.
    --------------------------------
    1920 Lyon & Healy bowlback
    1923 Gibson A-1 snakehead
    1952 Strad-o-lin
    1983 Giannini ABSM1 bandolim
    2009 Giannini GBSM3 bandolim
    2011 Eastman MD305

If looking at used or vintage, look for a used Flatiron A5. They are excellent mandolins and the A5 can be found in that range.

9. The following members say thank you to mandobassman for this post:

Blog Entries

I like the look and sound of the one Flatiron A5 I've played. Some nice looking ones online for 1500 -2000.