Thread: Question about plugging holes

Default Question about plugging holes

I know there have been quite a few guitar to octave conversions talked about lately and I'm about to start my second. My first one came out better than I anticipated but it has a pretty chunky neck and is somewhat difficult to play. The one I'm doing now has a 1-1/2" nut width instead of 1-3/4" and I think that will make it much easier to play, along with a 1-1/2" shorter scale length. The biggest difference between the first one I did and this one is the first one had a slotted headstock, which made it much easier to install standard mandolin tuners. This one has a standard flat headstock, which means I will have to plug the holes and re-drill for the mandolin tuners. What is the best way to plug the holes? I know this might seem simple, but I've never done that before and I don't want to mess it up. Is it simply a matter of finding wood dowels to fit the holes and sanding down to the headstock level or is there more to it? I know I'll have to install a veneer over the top to hide the previous holes. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Larry Hunsberger

2013 J Bovier A5 Special w/ToneGard
    D'Addario FW-74 flatwound strings
    1909 Weymann&Sons bowlback
    1919 Weymann&Sons mandolute
    Ibanez PF5
    1993 Oriente HO-20 hybrid double bass
    3/4 guitar converted to octave mandolin

Default Re: Question about plugging holes

Is it simply a matter of finding wood dowels to fit the holes and sanding down to the headstock level or is there more to it?
    You'll either have to find dowels that fit the existing holes or bore the holes larger to accept the size dowel that you can get. That's the only way I know of to heal those holes. I would attempt to cut them as close as possible to the correct thickness to avoid excessive sanding.
    "It's comparable to playing a cheese slicer."
    --M. Stillion

"Bargain instruments are no bargains if you can't play them"
    --J. Garber