Thread: Ulnar Nerve Entrapment

Default Ulnar Nerve Entrapment

Over the past year, I've begun to experience some numbness and tingling in the 3rd and 4th fingers of my left hand as well as the outside of the forearm. I especially notice this when playing guitar and mandolin. I'm an RN, so I am aware that the ulnar nerve is responsible for innervating those fingers. I've researched this is bit and believe the condition is likely ulnar nerve entrapment. The ulnar nerve passes close to the surface of the outside of the elbow, and is the nerve that is affected when we refer to hitting the "funny bone". I've not been to the doctor about this yet, but I am trying to research possible treatment options. From what I've read, this condition can lead to muscle atrophy, hand weakness, and loss of finger coordination. I've played guitar for about 35 years and more recently have developed a strong love for the mandolin. Although I'm not a professional musician, playing music is one of the most important things in my life. I'm very concerned about losing my ability to play. My grip is still strong and I can still play, but I can see this is something I need to address before it gets worse.

I'm reaching out to my fellow musicians to see if anyone of you have suffered from this condition and found effective treatment.

Scott

2. The following members say thank you to Scott L for this post:

Default Re: Ulnar Nerve Entrapment

I get that tingly sensation and my pinky/ring fingers go numb on a regular basis. Oddly enough, it never happens when playing an instrument. Usually it's when I'm reading a book or using a smart phone. It's got to be one particular position of my elbow that's doing it.