Thread: Strad-O-Lin or Eastman?

Default Strad-O-Lin or Eastman?

Hi All,

Longtime lurker here posting for the first time. So I'm looking to buy my first mandolin, and a couple of options have popped up locally: a vintage Strad-O-Lin and an Eastman 505. Through a fluke, the two are actually kind of close in price. The Strad is a little over priced and the Eastman is on sale because of a store closing. Here's my question: for a first mando, which would you choose? I'm looking for a bluegrass machine, but keep in mind that I'm a total beginner. Played guitar for 15 years, but never touched a mandolin before the other day.

I should mention that what really drew me to the mandolin was the chop sound. So if neither of these options would fit the bill, would you recommend something else instead?

Thanks!

fishing with my mando darrylicshon's Avatar

Default Re: Strad-O-Lin or Eastman?

If the eastman comes with a good setup i would buy it , but i do like both
    Ibanez 70's 524, 521, 3 511's,2 512's,513,1 514,3 80s 513's, 522
    J Bovier F5-T custom shop
    Kiso Suzuki V900,
    The Loar lm600 Cherryburst
    morgan monroe mms-5wc,ovation
    Michael Kelly Octave Mandolin
    Emandos Northfield octave tele 4, Northfield custom jem octave mandolin 5 octave strat 8
    2 Flying v 8, octave 5, Exploryer octave 8 20"
    Fender mandostrat 4,3 Epip mandobird 2,4/8, Kentucky. KM300E Eastwood mandocaster
    Gold Tone F6,Badaax doubleneck 8/6

I'd choose the Eastman.